Click the links below for directions on backing up, resetting or restoring your iOS phone:

Backing up your iPhone



Back up to iCloud

To back up your phone manually on iOS 8 or later:

  1. Connect to Wi-Fi
  2. Tap Settings
  3. Tap Your name
  4. Tap iCloud
  5. Tap iCloud Backup
  6. Enable iCloud Backup
  7. Tap Back Up Now

How_to_back_up_your_iPhone__iPad__and_iPod_touch_-_Apple_Support__1_.pngHow_to_back_up_your_iPhone__iPad__and_iPod_touch_-_Apple_Support__2_.png

To back up your iPhone manually on iOS 7 or earlier:

  1. Connect to Wi-Fi
  2. Tap Settings
  3. Select iCloud
  4. Select Storage & Backup
  5. Enable iCloud Backup
  6. Tap Back Up Now

With iCloud Backup enabled, your iPhone will be automatically backed up daily as long as:

  • the iPhone has a Wi-Fi connection
  • the iPhone is connected to a power source
  • the iPhone's home screen is locked

When iCloud backup is enabled, iTunes backup is automatically disabled.

 

Back up to iTunes

  1. Connect the iPhone to a computer with the latest version of iTunes installed.
  2. In iTunes, click the iPhone icon.
  3. Under Manually Back Up and Restore click Back Up Now.

To date and time of the last backup to iTunes will be listed below. 

How_to_back_up_your_iPhone__iPad__and_iPod_touch_-_Apple_Support.png

Resetting your iPhone



Reset from the iPhone

You should always run a factory reset before selling your iPhone or your buyer may not be able to activate it.

Do not manually delete anything from your iPhone when you are logged into your iCloud account as that will also delete all that information from iCloud and all your other iCloud synced phones.

  1. Tap Settings
  2. Select General
  3. Scroll to Reset and tap
  4. Select Erase All Content and Settings
  5. If you have a passcode set, you'll be prompted for it here - enter it
  6. Tap Erase iPhone
  7. Tap Erase iPhone again

    File__1_.jpg
 

Reset from iCloud

You should always run a factory reset before selling your iPhone or your buyer may not be able to activate it.

Do not manually delete anything from your iPhone when you are logged into your iCloud account as that will also delete all that information from iCloud and all your other iCloud synced phones.

  1. Sign into the iCloud account.
  2. Click Find My iPhone.
  3. When map comes up, click the All Devices drop down at the top.
  4. Select the correct device.
  5. Click Erase iPhone and follow the prompts.
  6. If you are selling the iPhone or you are sure it's lost, once erased, click Remove from Account.
File__2_.jpg

Restoring your iPhone

Restore from iCloud back up

  1. You'll be prompted to go through the following setup steps:
    • language selection
    • region selection
    • connect to a Wi-Fi network
    • enable/disable location services.
  2. From the list of setup options, select Restore from iCloud Backup.
  3. Sign into iCloud using your Apple ID.
  4. Review the Terms and Conditions and tap Agree.
  5. Select a backup from the list of available backups.
  6. The phone will restore and then restart.
Restore_your_iPhone__iPad__or_iPod_touch_from_a_backup_-_Apple_Support.png

Restore from iTunes backup

  1.  On the phone you'll be prompted to go through the following setup steps:
    • language selection
    • region selection
    • connect to a Wi-Fi network
    • enable/disable location services
  2. From the list of setup options, select Restore from iTunes Backup.
  3. On your computer, open iTunes.
  4. Connect the iPhone to your computer using a cable.
  5. Once your iPhone is recognized by iTunes, select Restore from this backup and choose the backup that you want from the dropdown list.
  6. iTunes will begin restoring the iPhone from the backup; leave the iPhone connected to the computer.
  7. Once the iPhone has been restored, it will restart.  

How_to_back_up_your_iPhone__iPad__and_iPod_touch_-_Apple_Support.png
Was this article helpful?
32 out of 43 found this helpful