Skip navigation

Suspending vs Deactivating Your Mobile Device

Follow

Last updated by Isabel M

This article will explain the difference between suspending and deactivating your mobile device and help you decide which option is right for you.

To suspend or deactivate your device, click the edit icon next to Status in the Details section of your device's settings:

 

Then select Suspend this device or Deactivate this device from the drop down menu.

 

Suspending Your Device

Suspending your device essentially means suspending the phone number associated with your device. Here's what happens when you suspend your device/number:

  • your device can no longer send or receive calls or texts and cannot access the cellular data network
  • your device can still access Wi-Fi networks (if applicable), so any apps that can run on Wi-Fi alone will still work as long as you have a Wi-Fi connection
  • the $6 monthly active line fee still applies since we're holding onto your phone number for you
  • your device settings can't be updated in your Ting account online until your device is unsuspended
  • you can't move your number to another device until your device is unsuspended
  • when you unsuspend your device you'll still have the same phone number as when you suspended it and whatever your settings were before will remain the same
  • you can unsuspend your device anytime from your Ting account 

Suspending Your Device

When to suspend:

  • your device is lost or stolen and you want to make sure there's no unauthorized usage
  • you're planning to move the phone number to another device, but not right away
  • you aren't using your device for significant periods of time but you want to maintain the same phone number

When NOT to suspend:

  • your phone is missing but you are still attempting to use a phone location app--the phone needs to be able to access the cellular data network for these apps to work
  • the phone is being used as an emergency device

Deactivating Your Device

Deactivating your device essentially means canceling your phone number. We also call it "expiring" your number and this means the following:

  • your phone number is returned to the pool of numbers available to anyone activating a device
  • you can't port this number out of Ting since it's no longer active and no longer belongs to you

NOTE: Deactivating your number means you are giving up ownership of that phone number.

While you can reactive a CDMA device with a new number after deactivating, you cannot reactivate a GSM SIM card again; you need to purchase a new SIM card.

Since Ting's new numbers are randomly assigned, if you decide to reactivate a CDMA device, you wouldn't be getting your old number back.

Note, reactivating your device with another number during the same billing period may result in a second active line fee as per our Terms of Service.

Deactivating Your Device

When to deactivate:

  • you absolutely no longer want ownership of the phone number associated with the device and don't care about ever having that phone number again

When NOT to deactivate:

Most of the situations in the "when NOT to deactivate" category are good reasons to suspend your device/phone number, but not to deactivate it.

Suspending Internet Service

Currently, we do not offer an option to suspend Internet service.

Have more questions? Submit a request