Poor Customer Service

First let me start.  I have been a customer with Ting for almost 3 years now, and I have never had any issues.  My wife and I recently purchased two brand new LG G5s from Ting when they went on sale.  I opened mine, got it charged and activated, and was generally enjoying the new phone.  On the 2nd day of use, the phone began acting weird.  Texting would freeze, apps would stop working, and generally the phone would be extremely slow.  I contacted Ting support to help troubleshoot the problem.  The informed me that I should factory reset the phone and then load apps one by one to see which one was causing the issue.  I proceeded to do this and the phone would work fine for about half a day until it would do the exact same thing.  I contacted Ting support again, with the same resolution.  This proceeded to take place each week for about 3 weeks.  I finally got fed up with it all and said that I wanted to have a refund issued.  I sent in photos of the phone to verify that everything was in perfect cosmetic shape and that the phone turned on.  I received my return shipping label and sent the phone off (in the original packaging) within 3 days.  I received an email a couple days later from Ting stating that the phone had cosmetic damage and that my refund request was being denied.  After contacting Ting support personally, I was told that the phone had scratches on the screen.  The scratches in question were not their when the phone was in my possession and the phone was kept in an otterbox case since being unboxed.  I was told at that point that they were keeping my phone at their warehouse, because it was Ting's policy that if a phone was received damaged they were not allowed to return it.  This caused quite a stir, as you could imagine, so I asked that a supervisor get involved.  I guess I didn't think it was right that Ting would keep my $350 and my phone...call me crazy.  The supervisor (Jennifer) informed me that she would get in touch with the warehouse and determine their side of the story and get back to me.  I never received a call back and had to reach out myself.  I was told by the Ting support staffer that the decision was made to send my phone back to me and that "I was lucky to be getting it back as this was not the normal policy".  Apparently I should be groveling at their feet and thanking them for their extreme generosity in sending my MY phone back.  This of course does not resolve the issue that I purchased a phone from Ting that does not work and Ting refuses to make it right.  Buyer be ware!  This company is not ethical and just like their big brothers, is only out for money.  Customer service is something that Ting states that they hold dear to, but when rubber hits the road, customer service goes out the window.  I am canceling my Ting service and will be searching elsewhere for a company that practices what they preach.  Shame on Ting and every employee that I came in contact with for being unwilling to resolve an issue that they created in the first place.  I hope that this review helps keep other people looking to move to Ting from making the same mistake.  

0

Comments

12 comments
  • Hi Matthew, thanks for writing us and letting us know about the situation.We posted a response to you on the Facebook review you left but we also wanted to respond here as well and let you know we hear you and understand your frustration. We never want one of our customers to feel like a device purchased from us is not working up to what was expected. In most cases, troubleshooting steps that you took would fix the issues but in your situation, they didn't resolve them. With refunds on phones, we state our guidelines through our Terms and Services what the process will be as we believe that clarity is an important aspect of our business. However, these are all things that you have probably heard from our customer support and are probably not the words you want to hear again.

    Here at Ting, we do try to understand the point of view of the customer as best as we can. We know you're unhappy with the situation and how everything turned out, as are we since you've been with us for three years and everything has been great up until this point. We will cover all costs to send the phone back and have added a credit to your account to help with the trouble you are going through.

    We really appreciate you sharing your thoughts. We are taking your feedback into account and working on an improvement to our RMA process to alleviate these issues in the future. If you'd like to talk further about this, please feel free to send us a private message.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I already tried to get this issue resolved through Ting privately. I believe that it is only fair that people know what kind of company Ting is. Account credit does not make up for the $350 that I spent on a defective phone. Saying that you are "working on improvement to you RMA process" sure sounds like corporate speak for "this will be filed away and never thought of again". I am out a phone and $350 while Ting is laughing all the way to the bank. This issue is being reported to the BBB and hopefully my story will keep people from making the mistake of switching their service to Ting

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I'm a new customer and I'm beyond sad to hear this. I hope you guys were finally able to get your money back. I am really dismayed to see how this was or is being handled. Zero excuse for that.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I waited 5 days! Still no service, no response to important emails, tried calling and got put on hold forever, NEVER GOT A LIVE PERSON.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I waited 5 days! Still no service, no response to important emails, tried calling and got put on hold forever, NEVER GOT A LIVE PERSON.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Roy, thanks for letting us know. It looks everything is active on your account now and that we were able to get back to you. I am sorry for the delay and would like to thank you for your patience. If you ever don't hear any response from us again please reach out to us again here and one of us can see what they can do to get you some assistance. Hope you have a good rest of the day!

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I would say that Ting responded to me quickly on several occasions, but that's about the end of their "customer service" to me.  Even though my device purchased through Ting started falling apart within a month, and I bit my tongue and tried to make thing work okay as the side bars got loser and loser, eventually it was bad enough I asked for a replacement, at which point they determined that due to "physical damage" they wouldn't replace it.  Never dropped, never abused, I've literally never had a device that has been handled and used as carefully as this, but they just showed me the door.  I recommend no one buy a device from them.  If you like the plans, bring your own phone from another source.  Any other major seller would have helped me on this, I'm quite certain of it.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Brandon, thanks for leaving your review. We are always interested in hearing about our customer's experiences both good and bad. We took a look at the emails that you sent and the device shows physical damage that is outside of the realm of a manufacturer defect and thus the warranty is no longer applicable. I know this is not what you want to hear and I can understand your frustration but with the state of the phone that it’s in, we would not be able to replace it. If you truly feel that this is a manufacturer defect we would recommend contacting the manufacturer to see if they have come across anything like this before. We appreciate your time and hope you have a good rest of the day.

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Probably the worst customer service I've ever had.

    I had some issues with my payment information. I forgot that I had renewed the credit card I used for autopay, and Ting had sent me an email regarding this issue. I tried to change it in my account, but the site wouldn't change it no matter how much I tried. So I email Ting a day after, just in case my card wasn't working. I tried two cards, and both didn't work on the website. The email from Ting said that I could just reply to the email if I needed help, and so I did.

    I don't receive a reply to the email.

    Another email comes a day later that says my 'service will be suspended soon'. I thought that maybe this was an automated email sent before anyone saw my reply. So I wait a little longer for the reply to the email I don't ever get.

    Four days after my email for help, they send me an email that they suspended my account because I have "ignored previous attempts to resolve" this issue. They also threaten to "institute collection procedures".

    I send an email again, just in case they missed my email. I was genuinely upset they didn't reply to my previous email. I can't do anything because my cell phone doesn't work, and I don't receive any replies to my emails.

    I found out that I could chat with a representative, so I did that a couple moments ago. He found my email. Then he tells me I have to call the customer service team because of security reasons. I understand that reasoning, but why can't they tell me that through email? I've replied twice, and there was absolutely no response. It apparently reached Ting though. There was no apology for straight out ignoring my emails and threatening for no reason.

    Now I'm trying to call by Skype. Of course I'm waiting again, but who knows? They probably won't even apologize.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hey Lani, thank you for reaching out. I'm very sorry to hear about the lack of support! While emailing is a good way to get in touch with us our response time is not immediate. If something time sensitive comes up calling would be the best way for us to solve your problem right away. For things involving billing, we will also need to hear from you over the phone in order to keep your information safe. As far as those emails go, they're all automated and they're not meant to be threataning but instead are meant to serve as a heads up. Again, I'm very sorry for the miscommunication in regards to this issue. We want to make processes like this easy to solve and have the avenues to solve them be as apparent as possible. I appreciate you sharing this so we can work on improving. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I think it'd be best if those automated messages are revised and that you tell customers in those emails that calling is the best option since emails will never really be responded.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • I agree Lani, I will be attending the next feature development meeting and I’ll be sure to bring this up so we can avoid scenarios like this in the future. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and I appreciate you sharing this with us. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.